The Longest Day Of My Life


Hello:

And no, this is not as cool as it seems, this was probably the longest day of my life.

In case you didn’t know, I was born in Mexico although I live in Spain. I go to Mexico in summer every year to visit my family. I go from Asturias to Bilbao by bus, from Bilbao to Paris by plane and from Paris to Mexico by plane. The last year, my flight to Mexico from Paris was cancelled, and that was my first cancelled flight in my life. Oviously, I thought this was not going to happen again, but it happened, my flight from Bilbao to Paris was cancelled. (oh no!)

Ok, so the flight was cancelled at 18:00pm, the airport sent all the passengers to a very nice hotel in Bilbao at 21:00pm. Sounds good so far, right? But I’m just getting started, we had to wake up at 4:30am and the flight was at 7:00am. On the right side the hotel was new and really nice (and of course, free).

Ok, we woke up at 4:30am, but we were so tired that we slept a little bit more and guess what?, we were the last ones to go on the bus, we almost missed the bus. Well, we could perfectly have called a cab, but anyway… We’re so unlucky!

And the plane took off at last, we were flying to paris, yeeeeeeesssssss!!!!!!

When we got to paris, we stayed there from 8:45am to 14:00pm. It was just sooooooo boring, there was nothing to do, and we were also very tired. The restaurant was not that good, maybe the place was fancy, but the breakfast was a waste of money, gross!

We’ve been in lots of shops at the airport but of course, we bought nothing. Everything is so expensive. My mom was seeing shops and shops, meanwhile, my dad and I were using the airport’s Wi-Fi. Last year you only had 15 minutes of free Wi-Fi, now you can use it as long as you want.

The flight to Mexico was not as bad as I thought It was gonna be, but it was really long, I didn’t sleep at all, 11 hours without standing up, it gives me a lot of anxiety. I saw 3 movies and I listened to music the rest of the time.

When we got to Mexico, there was a humongous line for foreigners and for residents. It was 1 entire hour. Then we called a cab to get to our house in Mexico, 1 hour of traffic. It was very boring, stressful and tiring.

We were at home at last and we fell asleep 1 hour after… We woke up at 5:00am, we had breakfast and visited our family… They were so glad that we finally got there, my parents and i are very lucky that we can visit our family for 1 month and a half every summer.

Things I’ve learnt? Well, I’ve learnt life is cruel sometimes, airports can cancel as much flights as they want. I’ve learnt that It’s better to cancel a flight than dying on board of the flight. I’ve learned that sleep is much more important that I expected, because I didn’t sleep like 3 days: 1st day, preparing everything; 2nd day, flight cancelled; 3rd day, flying.

You know what? I’ve never been interested in being working at the airport, now I’m sure I don’t want to.

On the right side… wait, what’s the right side of this? I think the right side is: al least I didn’t die flying, I’m at Mexico al last, that hotel in Bilbao was so cool, I took lots of photos at the airport…

And now I’m happy at Mexico, eating tacos, burritos, catching up with my family…

And here ends my traveling story, I hope you enjoyed reading my craziest experience ever. Readers, what was your worst traveling experience? See you soon!

Want to see more? (click on the links)

Last Post                                                        About Me                          Scary Things While Traveling

Why Do We Take So Many Selfies--Diversion3000lol´s donetravellin´

 

 

Leave me a comment! Talk to me!

